Revolution

Veröffentlicht: Januar 24, 2013 in Idle speech
Schlagwörter:, ,

It’s quite rare that a piece of music stops me in my tracks, makes my heart skip a beat, grabs me and holds me by the throat – not because I don’t believe in the power of music but because I rarely have the time and piece of mind to listen properly.
But this morning I was grabbed unaware while washing up by this wonderful song by the equally wonderful  singer Tracy Chapman. I remember when it came out in 1988 when I was in my final year at school: as a teenager of course I was all for the revolution and poor people rising up. So today it struck me as quite sad that Tracy`s words have as much (maybe even more?) relevance today than they had 25 years ago.

What do you think? Will the tables start to turn?

Kommentar verfassen

